Shadows and Strongholds

Shadows and Strongholds


Author : Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher : Little Brown
Release Date :
ISBN : 9780751551822
Pages : 592 pages
Rating Book: 4.5/5 (551 users)

Go Book

An awkward misfit, nine-year-old Fulke FitzWarin leaves his family for the household of Joscelin de Dinan, Lord of Ludlow. Once there, he begins to learn the knightly arts which he desperately hopes will free him from the shadows of his past. Joscelin's youngest daughter, Hawise, befriends Fulke when he most needs it. But as the years pass, an enemy to Ludlow changes their friendship unalterably, forcing them onto opposite sides of a cruel divide. When the menace to Ludlow intensifies, Fulke must confront the future head on or fail on all counts, all the while desperate to know if Hawise stands with or against him.


Shadows and Strongholds

Shadows and Strongholds


Author : Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc.
Release Date :
ISBN : 1402274602
Pages : 544 pages
Rating Book: 4.0/5 (42 users)

Go Book

Superb writing, phenomenal storytelling, breathtaking detail, sparkling characterization, a moving tale of love and tragedy with plenty of wit and humor thrown in."—Bookfoolery Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Shadows and Strongholds is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be hooked on this well-crafted medieval tale of pride, loyalty, and conflict as one man fights the shadows of his past and his future. The one thing Brunin Fitzwarin knows best is nothing worthwhile is easy—especially not becoming a knight. But nothing will be more challenging than the past he's struggling to leave behind. Sent away by his father, Brunin is now a knight-in-training to the Lord of Ludlow—and still utterly alone. That is, until the youngest daughter of the house, Hawise, befriends him. With England in turmoil, Brunin must fight with his lord to support King Stephen for the English crown. As the war rages on and hits particularly close to home, Brunin must defeat the shadows of his childhood and take on the mantle of knight, confronting the future head on. More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick: Lady of the English The Greatest Knight The Summer Queen What reviewers are saying about Shadows and Strongholds "Romance, history, and action all rolled into one delicious ball."—NetGalley Review "An exquisitely written, compelling tale—a keeper to be enjoyed more than one time."—Long and Short Reviews What people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick "A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." USA Today "Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."—Books Monthly, UK "The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." —Historical Novels Review "[Chadwick] makes the time period come alive for the reader, utilizing small historical details in order to really set each scene."—S. Krishna's Books "Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."—The Burton Review "Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."—RT Book Reviews "Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." Daily Telegraph


Heldensage und Heldendichtung im Germanischen

Heldensage und Heldendichtung im Germanischen


Author : Heinrich Beck
Publisher : Walter de Gruyter
Release Date :
ISBN : 9783110111750
Pages : 428 pages
Rating Book: 4.1/5 (111 users)

Go Book

Germanische Altertumskunde Online (Germanic Antiquity Studies Online) - just like the Reallexikon that has merged with it - is accompanied by supplementary volumes. This series comprises both monographs and edited volumes on specific topics from the fields of archaeology, history, and literary studies. It thus expands the database with the inclusion of aspects that require comprehensive analysis. More than 100 volumes have now appeared, from Germanenproblemen in heutiger Sicht (The Problems of Germanic Peoples from a Contemporary Perspective) to Germanische Altertumskunde im Wandel (Germanic Antiquity Studies in Flux).